ACT 6 OF 2018 Notice to all Licensees, Registrants, Certificate Holders, and Permit Holders 4.16.18
IN ADDITION TO ANY EXISTING REPORTING REQUIRED BY A SPECIFIC BOARD OR COMMISSION, EFFECTIVE APRIL 16, 2018, PURSUANT TO ACT 6 OF 2018, ANY PERSON HOLDING A LICENSE, REGISTRATION, CERTIFICATE OR PERMIT ISSUED BY A LICENSING BOARD OR COMMISSION UNDER THE BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS SHALL NOTIFY THE APPROPRIATE LICENSING BOARD/COMMISSION WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE OCCURRENCE OF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:
(1) A DISCIPLINARY ACTION TAKEN BY A LICENSING AGENCY OF ANOTHER JURISDICTION.
(2) A FINDING OR VERDICT OF GUILT, AN ADMISSION OF GUILT, A PLEA OF NOLO CONTENDERE, PROBATION WITHOUT VERDICT, DISPOSITION IN LIEU OF TRIAL OR AN ACCELERATED REHABILITATIVE DISPOSITION (ARD) OF ANY FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR OFFENSE.
TO REPORT A DISCIPLINARY ACTION OR CRIMINAL MATTER AS SET FORTH ABOVE, LOG IN TO THE PENNSYLVANIA LICENSING SYSTEM (PALS) AT www.pals.pa.gov, AND SELECT “MANDATORY REPORTING BY LICENSEES” UNDER THE HEADING “LICENSING SERVICES.”
Source: The Act of February 15, 2018 (P.L. 14, No. 6) (Act 6 of 2018). Act 6 of 2018 can be viewed at the following link:
Special Notice Regarding a New Format for CRNP Prescriptive Authority Approval Numbers as of 2.23.18
As the Bureau transitions to the new licensing system (PALS), you will notice that all CRNP Prescriptive Authority Approval numbers will now be in a new format. The 6 digit number will be preceded by the prefix NPPA, for example NPPA000000. The new format (including the prefix) must now be entered to verify a prescriptive authority approval at www.pals.pa.gov/verify.
Reporting of Crimes and Disciplinary Actions as of 10.17.15
RNs, LPNs, CRNPs, CRNAs, LDNs, and CNSs MUST notify the State Board of Nursing of the following:
• Pending criminal charges
• Criminal convictions (including a guilty plea, conviction following a trial, probation without verdict and Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition)
• Disciplinary actions taken by other states/jurisdictions
Pending criminal charges and criminal convictions MUST be reported within 30 days of the action.
Discipline taken against a license in other states/jurisdictions MUST be reported within 30 days.
Notification should be made online at: https://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/BPOAFormBuilder/Login_licensee.aspx. As part of that notification, licensees will be able to upload relevant documents. Licensees who do not have internet access shall mail the notification and supporting documentation to the Board office.
Requirement as of 1.1.15
CE: 30 hours of continuing education are due every two years from October 1st through September 30th of even years. Continuing education must be approved by the board. Licensed dietitian-nutritionists are regulated under the PA Board of Nursing.
All persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DPW-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.
Additionally, EFFECTIVE WITH THE FIRST LICENSE RENEWAL AFTER JANUARY 1, 2015, all health-related licensees and funeral directors applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.
Regulation as of 9.17.15
Effective October 17, 2015 The Pennsylvania Nursing Board rules now require all Pennsylvania licensed RNs, LPNs, CRNPs, LDNs, and CNSs to report being charged with any misdemeanor or felony criminal charge, regardless of which jurisdiction the charges originate. The same practitioners must also within 90 days report any discipline from another jurisdiction.
Regulation as of 12.27.16
Candidates for licensure take the licensure examination for the first time within one year of completing their nursing education programs. Express permission must be granted by the Board for candidates to take the examination for the first time after the one-year period. Candidates will first be required to demonstrate that they were prevented from taking the examination by emergency, illness, military service, licensure in another state, or other good cause shown.
Address change with the Board of Nursing
Licensees must notify the Board within 14 days of a change of address.